Home |  Search |  Contact Us |  Website & Cookies Policy

News & Press Releases

Dedication of Studies



Dedication of Studies mass


A Dedication of Studies Mass was celebrated on Wednesday, 10 October to mark the beginning of the new academic year.

Bishop Noel Treanor attended the ceremony with Rev Dr Paul Fleming as the chief celebrant, supported by Rev Dr Niall Coll, Rev Fr Eddie McGee and Rev Fr Feidhlimidh Magennis.

Before the Mass there was a presentation of awards to successful students.




Presented by


(National Association of Schoolmasters and Union of Women Teachers)

Top achiever in last year’s first-year Education Programme


Judith Quinn
(BEd 2 Celtic)


Dr David Baxter,
(President of NASUWT)


Fr Martin O’Callaghan Memorial Award

Top achiever in last year’s first-year Liberal Arts programme


Emir McLaughlin
(LA2 English)


Professor Peter Finn,
(College Principal)



CCMS Student Award
(Council for Catholic Maintained Schools)


Emma McHugh
(BEd 4
Religious Studies Primary)


Mairead Harvey
(Senior Education Advisor)



Award on Behalf of St Mary’s Students’ Union

Recognition of dedication to the College community


Niamh McGirr
(BEd 4
Religious Studies and Science)


Damien Ball
(Vice-President of the Students’ Union)



Winner of the NASUWT Award - Judith Quinn presented by Dr David Baxter (President of NASUWT)

Judith Quinn and David Baxter


Winner of the Fr Martin O’Callaghan Memorial Award - Emir McLaughlin presented by Professor Peter Finn (College Principal)

Emir McLaughlin and Peter Finn


Winner of the CCMS Student Award - Emma McHugh presented by Mairead Harvey (Senior Education Advisor)

Emma McHugh and Mairead Harvey


Winner of the Award on Behalf of St Mary’s Students’ Union - Niamh McGirr presented by Damien Bell (Student Union Vice President)

Niamh McGirr and Damien Ball


The Foundation Stone

The Foundation Stone